Rants, Recipes, Reviews

“When you say “It’s hard”, it actually means “I’m not strong enough to fight for it”. Stop saying its hard. Think positive!” – Unknown Working through the rough spots.

“When you say “It’s hard”, it actually means “I’m not strong enough to fight for it”. Stop saying its hard. Think positive!” – Unknown

This week has been a little tough dietary wise. I’ve made a few mistakes.. like eating the granola bar thought to be gluten/wheat free, but wasn’t. Lesson learned, when reading another type of granola bar I had, I realized I didn’t have anything to eat at work, so….

I ran down to the bookstore and scoured over the shelves reading every label of things that looked edible on a gf diet. I found only two things, a bag of trail mix that stated it was manufactured on equipment used to manufacture things with wheat, and a granola bar that was sooooooo different from everything else, I was amazed.

The name of the granola bar is Two Degrees. The bar is the Cherry Almond Flavor with Quinoa, Chia and Millet.

2 degrees bar

The bar itself contains a lot of great stuff, the company helps feed people with every purchase (LOVE THAT!), and proclaims with boldness that it is gluten free. Sadly, though, when I flipped it over, it is created in a facility that handles wheat, soy, milk, eggs, etc. So hopefully it will be okay.

You can learn more about them here: http://twodegreesfood.com/

Another bar I found and loved at the grocery store was the Lara bar which was gluten free and was REALLLY good!! It was a Lara bar, cherry/almond flavored! All I can say is YUM!!!! These could be dangerous as they taste so good! I could eat more than one!

lara bars pic

Anyway, to learn more about the Lara bars, check here: http://www.larabar.com/ They are also committed to non-GMO so is an added benefit for anyone dealing with autoimmune issues or celiac! 🙂

In the future, I will be learning to create my own “Larabar” type granola bars with various dietary limitations… Still a newbie and learning through trial and error though.

If anyone has a recipe they’d like to share that is out of this world good, and gluten/wheat free, please feel free to share it through the posts on the left or by emailing to me below! You will get credit for it if it’s yours. 🙂 Thanks ahead for sharing!

That being said, I’ve gotten back to looking for gluten free recipes that I can have. 🙂

Think Positive, Right?

Anyway, I’ve found a couple of really interesting recipes… Here’s one for a nice, hot, thick soup!

This one looks amazing. It’s a carrot, cashew cream, curry combination from Food52! Here’s the link: http://food52.com/recipes/20730-creamy-carrot-ginger-bisque-with-cashew-cream
You can subscribe to them and get emailed recipes sent directly to your inbox!!!

Since I absolutely ADORE curry, I am truly hoping that I do not have to give it up so will modify the recipe slightly so the curry is not as pronounced to see if it’s okay! Next to chocolate, I think that curry makes the world go round!!

Anyway, onward and upward!
If you fall, just dust yourself off get up and try again… right? 🙂
Until next time,
Happy Reading and Eating!
~Christa~

Be Strong! Carry on!

Be Strong! Carry on!

Standard

Leave a Reply

