Rants, Reviews

“Even the smallest act of caring for another person is like a drop of water -it will make ripples throughout the entire pond…”

“Even the smallest act of caring for another person is like a drop of water -it will make ripples throughout the entire pond…”
― Jessy and Bryan Matteo

This past weekend, as I (and everyone else in the US) braved the trip to the grocery store in preparation of Superbowl Sunday, I had an excellent opportunity to help a fellow newbie at the grocery store.

As I walked slowly through the isles contemplating the purchases that I should make, a father and daughter were walking through the cereal isle looking for breakfast cereal that was “Gluten Free.” We briefly struck up a conversation in which she too had just started going gluten free and was lost in the sea of cereal and wheat products that are so prevalent in today’s society.

Happily, armed to bear, I was able to run up to the front of the store and ask for another copy of their gluten free product list. Granted, it only contained the store brand items, but at least it was a start!

So, with copy in hand, I returned to find the woman and her father still searching in another part of the store and handed her the list. It was a small thing, but it really made me feel good that I was able to do this for her. 🙂

Then, two isles over, I met another woman looking at the pastas in the gluten free section and mentioned if she cooked the pasta for the minimum amount of time, the pasta is still al dente (a mandatory requirement in my book).

It felt so good to be able to help others who are facing the same dietary plight as I am and I am only 2 weeks into my dietary changes.

Sooo… I thought, why not look into the other stores as well for their gluten free, dietary lists? After all, if I’m a newbie who needs help, as were they, how many others could there be? Right?

In this post, I thought I’d share the info I’ve found about the gluten free sections of grocery stores and those who are more gluten free friendly.

I must say, if you are close to a Whole Foods, you are blessed! Whole Foods has an amazing website! Their site is LOADED with gluten free information including information on Celiac disease, suggestions for support groups and the fact that they are more than happy to supply a meeting room at your local store if they have a meeting room available. How is that for customer service? Huh?

They take the time to care, and post, and educate… For more information on gluten free items, their gluten free bakery and where gluten hides, please definitely visit them here: http://www.wholefoodsmarket.com/healthy-eating/special-diets/gluten-free

I’ve always LOVED Whole Foods and really celebrated the new location opened in Charlotte, NC! I was truly spoiled by them. 🙂

Anyway, here are the gluten free lists of products offered at various stores… More will follow, but this is a good start. Some are in pdf form, some are the website pages themselves… Happy hunting. 🙂

Whole Foods: http://www2.wholefoodsmarket.com/specialdiets/APK_Gluten_Free.pdf
Trader Joes: http://www.traderjoes.com/pdf/lists/list-no-gluten.pdf
Harris Teeter: http://www.harristeeter.com/shopping/gluten_free.aspx
Publix: http://www.publix.com/managed_pdfs/GlutenFree10117.108335384.pdf
Kroger: https://www.kroger.com/asset/banner-glute-free-product-list

Sadly, not everyone is gluten free friendly and have lists readily available. I think that is a great mistake on their part as there are more and more people showing at grocery stores wondering what to buy. This weekend was a perfect case in point.

By the way, did I mention that I LOVE Whole Foods?? :)…jk..

Anyway, I hope that you find these links and lists helpful.

Of course, as I learn more, I will be happy to share further! I can’t wait to start creating my very own recipes. That will mean great success for me!

So, what is your favorite place to buy GF foods? Please email me or post a response!

Anyway, Happy Reading and Eating!
~ Christa ~

Be Strong! Carry on!

Be Strong! Carry on!

Standard

Leave a Reply

